Build: Day Fourteen

I got to the build site at about noon today because I spent the morning trying to track down more flooring and denim insulation that will fit my weird 24″ wall spacing (more on that insulation thing in a sec.) Jeff had been there since 9, and when I got there, I found that he had

1) Built a bathroom wall, including space for the bathroom pocket door, and put in the shower pan for my new shower enclosure (which I hate, but was one of the Compromises of Yesterday: there just isn’t anything else that is going to fit the space without being too heavy/too expensive. But I am already planning how I am going to rip it all out someday soon and put in something a little more custom.) Tiny bathroom is tiiiiiiiiny, and minimizing claustrophobia is going to be my great decorating challenge in there: wee baby pit bull is in there for scale.
DSC00290

2) Drilled out the hole for the drain (which is no minor thing, as it involves drilling through the subfloor and trailer decking).
DSC00298

3) Finished a whole lot of the electrical work. Here is the home of my future badass chandelier (I am considering making this and/or a teeny tiny non-obtrusive ceiling fan).

DSC00300

[I feel like Jeff has to be a) Amish, b) on speed all the time or c) employing a secret band of minions he dismisses the minute he senses I’m going to show up, because otherwise I cannot fathom how he gets things done as quickly and as well as he does.]

Anyway, I had plans to paint more, but instead I spent an hour watching Jeff finish the electrical work: electricity is something where I have ZERO practical knowledge, outside the realm of like, a potato clock, and I really wanted to get a sense of how it all fit together. It turns out it’s not that terrible! The outlets are placed every six feet, and you run regular plastic-coated wire (the kind you see in spools at the hardware store) through the top and out the bottom. Then you just connect it through to the next outlet. If you’ve ever connected a stereo to speakers using speaker wire, it is weirdly quite a lot like that. Much more mundane, much less FLOWING RIVERS OF CURRENT-BASED DEATH.

This wire, PS, is going to be on the outside of the shower enclosure. Just so you know.
DSC00289

You do the same thing for the light switches and for the dedicated fridge outlet, and then all the coils of wire end up balled up together at the future site of a junction box/circuit breaker. They’ll all be connected in, and then voici: power! Also, here is a thing I didn’t know: you drill holes in your framing studs and run the wire through those holes so your wire isn’t randomly floating around in your walls and you’re not accidentally pounding nails into your electrical system when you hang up pictures. Fascinating! Sorry, people who are more seasoned with electrical work than I am (which is to say, at all). I know this is really elementary stuff: I just found it all totally weird and interesting.
DSC00291

Then I went out and painted for a while. Bearing in mind that 1. this is not done yet and primed sections always look terrible on their own, 2. this is only a first coat in any case, 3. there is no trim on yet, which will make it look a lot more finished (all of the trim is sitting on the sawhorses in the front of the house, waiting to be painted high gloss white [which I also did today]) and 4. the color is actually a little darker than it shows up in the photos, here are some pictures of the houselet clad in Benjamin Moore Pewter

DSC00283

DSC00285

DSC00286

I have been painting for like half my life and it still looks awful, but I think tomorrow’s going to be the day it comes together.

More pictures!
Here’s what it looks like when I climb up the ladder, raise the camera over my head, point it at the roof and click the button. The whiteish stuff is the roof composite. See, I told you it was not fascinating!
DSC00277

What you see in this picture by the fauxlarium is a bale of fiberglass insulation, which is going back tomorrow (miscommunication!). I am feeling very intense about using denim, to the point where I am just past listening to other opinions, and I want it to the point where I am considering driving 300 miles round trip to source it tomorrow. Today made me have a weird amount of sympathy for the people who show up on “Bridezillas”: if you’re in the midst of a big project (especially if you’re not used to doing big projects), and the project feels momentous and like a one-time thing, and you’ve got a picture in your head of what you want and are finding out that reality sometimes requires things to be a little different, a point comes where you find yourself screaming at the camera that “THERE ARE GOING TO BE FREAKING DOVES AT THIS WEDDING IF IT KILLS ME!” and not even caring that America is laughing at you. And that was me with the insulation today.
DSC00297

But fiberglass insulation can go to hell, honestly. That stuff is the worst.

For everyone who was concerned Nell would have trouble with the loft stairs, she says no worries.
DSC00294

Tripod pittie is all over this
DSC00296

From the living room
DSC00299

My ceiling, let me show you it. [I am going to stain the rafters something dark, I think: you guys like that idea? Sort of mini-Hearst Castle-y?]
DSC00301

Quick poll: that’s the ceiling looking back at the loft. If you’re in the house, the stairs are on your right. You see that little open space that allows you to look into the loft? [you can see it in the living room shot too] Jeff wants to enclose that: I want to leave it open.

Jeff’s argument: if it’s enclosed, it’ll be private space and there will be good separation from the rest of the house.

My argument: if it’s enclosed, it’ll suddenly go from feeling light and airy to feeling like a coffin. Plus, in my theoretical plannings, I am going to mount a projection screen over the fauxlarium (it’ll be able to roll up and down, obviously) so I can watch movies and Netflix and such on a big screen, and this way I’ll be able to watch it from bed (this is in lieu of having an actual TV box, which I do not have now [note: not for “oh, I don’t watch TV” reasons, just because I currently stream everything]). Also, privacy from who, precisely? Am I really going to be having an army of people over in my living room while I am sleeping? And if so, wouldn’t a roll up shade do the trick? Also, if it’s closed, where will the cats do their acrobatics?

Second question! Interior walls are going to be painted white for sure (maybe with natural cedar in the bathroom). Should they be made of:

Smooth plywood, to approximate kind of a drywall look without the drywall/moving issues

Beadboard siding, like so but all over

Tomorrow: plumbing! And more bathroom installation! And then maybe some hot denim action, depending on if I can get it in. Also, second coat of paint, installation of wall trim, painting the top section of the house, mom painting the door.

Leave a Reply

