Build: Day Seven

Merry Thanksgivingukkah Eve! It is 1:09 AM and I just got done making some pie crusts (tomorrow’s pies: chocolate bourbon walnut, pear hazelnut and–new for me–sweet potato, because I heard this story on NPR and hearing the part where the chef’s grandmother poured evaporated milk on the top and let it reduce down to a crackle really got me in the mood to make sweet potato pie. I am going to two different dinners tomorrow, and the old standby pies are already going to be there, so I thought I’d mix it up a bit. Also, I’m making a bunch of different whipped creams (lavender, bourbon, vanilla), some bread and some cranberry business, because even though I am not hosting this year, you can’t show up at a Thanksgiving emptyhanded).

Anyway, before I crash, I wanted to do a quick update on Today In Homebuilding, because

In brief:
1) We hung all the windows (except the loft windows, which we can’t do until we get the walls clad). I am now the proud owner of five nice new low-E, energy efficient slider windows (single hung, as I am not Warren Buffet) and more importantly, I now know how to hang a window (well, mostly. I know there is an awful lot of leveling involved.)Day Seven: windows, framing faux-larium, some siding

2) We cut all the flashing (small galvanized metal barrier that goes along the bottom of the house, both to prevent moisture and to ward off termites)

Day Seven: windows, framing faux-larium, some siding

…and attached it to all the edges of the floor
Day Seven: windows, framing faux-larium, some siding

3) We built the frame for the faux-larium
Day Seven: windows, framing faux-larium, some siding

….and installed it! It’s not as deep as I was thinking it was going to be, so I have to rethink my plans for the egg chair (it’s coming, I’m just no longer sure where it’s going.) Maybe a window seat in the fauxlarium? I have to think about it.
Day Seven: windows, framing faux-larium, some siding

Here it is with its new window installed.
Day Seven: windows, framing faux-larium, some siding

So that took most of the morning. And then *trumpet fanfare* we started siding the house!

And guys, omg. Siding is SUCH a pain. We’re using T1-11 siding to clad the walls, and I have to admit, it is probably my least favorite material we’re using in the house: it’s a tongue-in-groove plywood that is finished on one side to look like rough-sawed wood. The benefits are that it’s affordable, it doesn’t offgass like regular ply, it’s light(ish), it’s not environmentally terrible and it goes on easier than regular wood would with less waste. But I don’t know, it feels kind of cheap and Ikea-y to me (though it’s going to be a million times better once I paint it and possibly install a horizontal cedar slat screen.)

Anyway, one of the things about it is that it’s softish, so you can’t use a nailgun on it: each nail has to be hand-hammered in (through the siding, into the stud) or the pressure will leave huge divots in the wall. After hammering in my fifty millionth nail, I would have probably copped to preferring divots.

Anyway, first you cut and dry-fit the sheets to exactly the shape you want them.
Day Seven: windows, framing faux-larium, some siding

Then you put construction adhesive on the studs where you’re going to attach the siding.
Day Seven: windows, framing faux-larium, some siding

Then you lift the pieces up and rest them on the groove of the flashing (no pictures of this, because whoa, it is a two person job.) Then you nail and nail and nail, and eventually it affixes to the studs. I hammered in about 90% of those nails, but here’s an artsy picture of Jeff nailing anyway.
Day Seven: windows, framing faux-larium, some siding

What it looks like with siding on:
Day Seven: windows, framing faux-larium, some siding

Day Seven: windows, framing faux-larium, some siding

From indoors:
Day Seven: windows, framing faux-larium, some siding

Back wall
Day Seven: windows, framing faux-larium, some siding

Ta-daa!
Day Seven: windows, framing faux-larium, some siding

OK, gotta go to sleep before I keel over. Happy Thanksgiving, everyone!

Leave a Reply

